It seems that the first great secret of being a successful sponsorship salesperson is to have a hyphen in your last name.  I don’t, so I’m not sure how this will affect my success . . .

On a more serious note, obviously, my new role at work is Business Development Manager, which is the professional way of saying “sponsorship salesman” (which is the politically incorrect way of saying “sponsorship salesperson”).  I got lent this book before I started work, so I could be thinking strategically about how to seek out sponsorship money.

Depending on whether you’ve been paying much attention to sponsorship in the last few years, you may have noticed that the way sponsorship is done has been changing dramatically.  In the good old days, non-profit organisations would trot along to big companies and ask for money.  In exchange, they would put the companies’ logos in every single possible location.

However, nowadays, everybody’s a bit smarter than that, and we now realise that people going to events, really don’t notice the logos.

So now we have to come up with more strategic ways of getting sponsorship money.  Which I think is all to the good, because why offer something that is a waste of money (temporarily putting aside the fact that it would be nice for companies to support non-profit organisations)?

So this book takes you step-by-step through the process of working out how to make offerings to sponsors that actually offer genuine value to them.  How to enhance their image, how to connect them with target audiences they are trying to reach, etc.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but the book’s approach is nicely systematic, and keeps you focused on the process you need to win sponsorships.

Obviously, I haven’t tested this in real life yet, so it will be interesting to see how it holds up, but it’s given me a clear path ahead.  4 1/2 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Review Backlog 7 of 10: The Sponsorship Seeker’s Toolkit (Anne-Marie Grey & Kim Skildum-Reid)

  1. Hello Matthew!

    Thank you for such a great review of The Sponsorship Seeker’s Toolkit 2E. I wish I could say that the hyphenated name helps. Mostly it just gets me called “Ms Reid”. Hate that.

    I agree that it would be great if big corporations just doled out the money to non-profits, but they don’t. The reality is that their pot of marketing money is much, much bigger. If you know how to provide some return, the potential is there for a much bigger dollar amount.

    The good news is that companies are looking at forming real partnerships with non-profits – large and small – more now than they ever have, and much of the industry’s growth is in the non-profit area. If you’re in that category AND have some skills, you are very well positioned to make the most of this trend.

    You might find some more interesting (and free!) resources on my website, http://www.powersponsorship.com. You can feel free to remove the link if you think this is self-promotional. I just want you to succeed and to thank you for your nice review with some more information that might help.

    Cheers, Kim

  2. Hi Matthew!

    As a recent blogger I just found our revewi and thanks. Note the hyphen is in my first name not my last! I have spent the last ten years working exclusively with non-profits in the areas of cause-related marketing and public private partnerships. The same strategies apply and in these tough times it’s all about a return on investment.

    Let us know how you are doing and best of luck.

    Anne-Marie

Leave a Reply

