Well, here we go – second-last of my parenting books to be finished.  First off, I’ve got to hand it to Elizabeth Pantley – she is a remarkably good writer.  Everything she puts down is calm and very methodical, so even if the advice does nothing, the book calms you down while reading it.

I’ll be interested to see how this book goes while putting it into practice, which Rachel and I are going to try.  Not having tried that yet, I can only comment on the information contained in the book, not on how effective it is.  But here goes:

Currently, when it comes to books on getting your child to sleep, there are really only two different methods that are put forward.  The most common is “let them cry it out”.  This is not rocket science.  At night time, you put your baby in their cot and leave them there. They will cry.  You let them cry until they fall asleep.

Obviously, the main trick with this technique is getting the parent (especially the mother) to put up with the child’s screaming until such time as the baby gets used to it.

On the other hand, there is also a group of people who say that this is quite an inhumane thing to do and that letting the baby scream causes quite severe distress to the baby.  However, what does this mean?  That we’re supposed to just stay up all night, feeding the Baby That Never Sleeps?

In the middle of all this somewhere is Elizabeth Pantley, who suggests all manner of things that parents can try to get their baby to sleep – none of which require letting your baby get all upset and scream.

I quite like the suggestions here (such as establishing a clear night-time routine, having a regular nap each day) and think they make sense from what we’ve seen with Shelby over the last 18 months.  But, whether we can improve her sleep remains to be seen. But for now, we’ll give it a cry.

I’ll give this a 5 out of 5 if it works.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The No-Cry Sleep Solution (Elizabeth Pantley)

  1. I have not read this particular book, but maybe will get it from the library when we have another child.
    The book I found helpful for my first (I nearly went crazy till I found it) was Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Child by Marc Weissbluth. It’s long and very in-depth, but I loved it. He goes through the science behind sleep, explains the natural patterns for sleep- baby sleep, and gives you an idea as to when sleep patterns could be changing as your child ages. Marc aslo goes through how to start from scratch if your child is a child and not sleeping well.
    My son is almost a year and goes down for (2) hour long naps and (1) 1.5-2 hour nap and is in bed for the night at 5-5:30, wakes once around 4 to nurse and is up for the day at 7:30. He’s been doing this since he was about 4 months…thanks to this book.
    🙂 sorry for the review within a review.

    Regards,
    Em

  2. Matt, I would love to know how you, Rachel and Shelby all got on with this in the end.
    Like you, this is about the 5th book I have read on the subject, but I REFUSE to do ‘controlled crying’ ever again….the weak attempts we made at it produced an awful lot of uncontrolled crying (mine) and they didn’t help my lovely Emily sleep one bit!
    I have high hopes for this book….I love her sensitivity towards the children concerned, and the warm, calming way she writes. It makes a wonderful change from all the Health Visitors who are telling me that crying it out is the only way and does no harm, which I don’t believe at all!!

Leave a Reply

