Sorry, everyone . . . had a huge day at work, and didn’t get to post when I wanted to.

I won’t make much more comments about this chapter (I think it kind of speaks for itself), though if you have your favourite moments or descriptions, feel free to comment them up.

Actually, the real reason I’m not going to go on about this chapter is that I spent all my time that I would have spent waffling in creating, especially for Dave E, a War and Peace Mind Map. It’s a bit of a work in progress, so it’s only going to get bigger as time rolls along . . . which is a bit of a pity, because it’s already looking like a dogs breakfast after only three chapters . . .

10 thoughts on “One-Year War and Peace 1.3 – The Mind Map

  1. Actually, Dave, on the issue of who’s important and who’s not – that’s an interesting comment. As a general rule, in Tolstoy’s world, whoever is important is who he’s talking about at the time.

    So of these various characters that we’ve met at the soireé, some will go on to become the main characters of the book, others will be secondary characters that come in and out, and some will never be mentioned again . . . but while he’s talking about them, Tolstoy will describe them in full-blooded detail.

    Ever since it’s been written, people thought that this approach to novel-writing was either extremely brilliant or extremely irritating – you can be the judge for yourself.

  2. My favourite quote of this chapter:

    “He spoke with such self-confidence that his hearers could not be sure whether what he said was very witty or very stupid.”

    I’m going to try this.

  3. Ha! Ha! Like I said previously, I don’t feel like boggling my mind right now – might look it over sometime in the (distant) future . . . or, as the old saying goes – I’ll wait for the movie!

    (I wonder if anybody ever made a movie about a synopsis)

    Something that’s fun . . . and creative, to do is to write little segments, giving an actual story to a character. I like to take a character from a book or movie, who hasn’t had much exposure in the story . . . the valet, the butler, the maid – somebody like that, and write a little story about them.

    Here’s an example of something I did on ‘Wise Woman’s Place’, when I first started reading W & P:

    http://wildcity.proboards14.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=Stories&thread=3098

    In this case, I used ‘Lise’, not a minor character, but at the time Lise was a minor character, in my mind. You can tell from my little story segment, that I empathized with ‘Lise’, at the time of writing, than I do now.

    I guess my opinion of her will change as I move through the chapters.

    At that time, Helene seemed more of a solid character to me . . . as you know from my responses in Book 3’s blog, this woman leaves me ‘in the dawk’, as Al Pacino said in ‘Scent of a Woman’. I really don’t understand ‘Ms Marble Boobs’ at all.

    ……………………………………………….

    Hi Laurel . . . so I did find you here, after all.

    ……………………………………………….

    Responding to Danliebke . . .

    You’re going to try this? Try what? Speaking with such self-confidence that your hearers cannot be sure what you said was ‘witty’ or ”stupid’?

    I’ve been there . . . every once in a while my ego gets off the leash and I drone on to people about things ‘they’ know nothing about. They aren’t really sure if what I’m saying is ‘accurate’ or ‘intelligent’ – it’s usually on a topic that nobody gives a damn about.

    Like worms – I just love going on about worms. Especially, when I’m in the zone for it, making up things about worms. About how they don’t like country music, y’know?

    Betcha’ didn’t know that about worms, eh?

  4. Hope you didn’t think I was putting down all the work you did on the ‘mind map’ . . . I know you did a great job – everyone’s using it at B & N . . . it’s just me – I haven’t caught on yet, but I will apply myself and use it, eventually.

  5. Another character . . . ‘the elderly lady’, who was sitting with the ‘old aunt’.

    And . . . the one who was ‘murdered’ . . . Duc d’Enghien (not really in the story, but referred to). Still it’s a character and I’ll add him to the list.

    Mademoiselle George – this is the one who Duc d’Enghien was visiting.

    So that’s 29, incluing these 3 characters I’m adding now.

    …………………………………………………………………………………….

Leave a Reply

