Today’s Chapter:

Garnett/Edmondson: 1.11

Maude: 1.14

I’m not sure why Vera cops such a beating from Tolstoy, but she does. Irritating to her mother, nasty to her brother and sister . . .

Being the oldest of five, I have some understanding of why she thinks she’s so important, but nobody really else seems to. Oh well . . . if she’s not that sympathetic, we’ll latch onto someone more interesting.

Like Boris’ mum . . . now working out how she can cadge some money from Pierre’s (dying) Dad to get her boy some army gear.

As a professional fundraiser myself, I’ve got to hand it to Anna for her guts. She can come and do cold-calling for me any day.

Thanks also to Dave E for his much more lucid explanation of the origin of Russian names than anything I could ever do. Of course, all this depends on which translation you have. I have a Garnett round the house, which Anglicises everything, so it’s Count and Countess Rostov. But I’ve also got a copy of the Maude translation, which retains the Russian naming conventions. It takes longer to get used to the latter, but I think I prefer that more authentic approach. What do you think?

Tomorrow’s Chapter:

Garnett/Edmondson: 1.12

Maude: 1.15

One thought on “One-Year War and Peace 1.11 – Who Needs Older Sisters?

  1. Yes, I’d forgotten all this, where Anna Drubetskoy (Princess Anna Mikhaylovna) cadges money out of Countess Rostov . . . she’s got a lot of nerve, that woman.

    and the Rostov’s are in financial problems themselves.

    To my count of 54, I will add:

    Nobody . . .

Leave a Reply

