As I write this, I am diabolically tired, so I think I shall have to let you make sense of and comment on this chapter all by yourself – however, I’m sympathising very much with Kutuzov’s thoughts on sleep.

You’ve got to love the contrast between him and Andrei – Kutuzov, letting things happen, on the one hand – and Andrei, still fantasising that he can single-handedly destroy the French.

I think I’m more of an Andrei normally, but at the moment, I think I’ll be a Kutuzov . . . good night all!

4 thoughts on “One-Year War and Peace 3.12 – Sleeping

  1. Well, Matt – just as Kutuzov says there’s nothing more important than a good sleep before a battle, I guess a good sleep after a chapter about having a good sleep is pretty good too.

    I’m probably much more of a Kutuzov than an Andrei – but, aside from that, I do love that whole scene of the Council of War. It seems you can count on one hand the number of people who are actually taking it seriously.

    I don’t imagine I could ever identify with Andrei’s sentiments about being prepared to trade everyone and everything dear to him just for the glory of leading an army to victory – but I do love the way Tolstoy writes about it: how the inner conflict within Andrei gives way to his pride and ambition, how all his pretences to nobility are placed alongside the rough and banal exchanges of the servants, and how Andrei sees an almost spiritual aura covering him through the mist. I reckon it’s brilliant writing.

  2. Oh, strange . . . today’s theme is ‘sleeping’ . . . and I too am Kutuzov today. We were out yesterday, riding our bikes around Humber Bay Park.

    Not only are my bones tired, my brains too . . . surface thinking only today.

    I’ll be back on the bed by noon – just too tired today.

  3. Buxhowden – General Buxhowden –

    The tall, fair-haired General Buxhowden stood, leaning his back against the wall, his eyes fixed on a burning candle, and seemed not to listen or even to wish to be thought to listen.

    Miloradovich –

    Exactly opposite Weyrother, with his glistening wide-open eyes fixed upon him and his mustache twisted upwards, sat the ruddy Miloradovich in a military pose, his elbows turned outwards, his hands on his knees, and his shoulders raised.

    Orderly –

    At last Bagration’s orderly came with the news that the prince could not attend.

    Przebyszewski –

    Przebyszewski, with respectful but dignified politeness, held his hand to his ear toward Weyrother, with the air of a man absorbed in attention.

    Tit –

    The voices were those of the orderlies who were packing up; one voice, probably a coachman’s, was teasing Kutuzov’s old cook whom Prince Andrew knew, and who was called Tit. He was saying, “Tit, I say, Tit!”

    344

Leave a Reply

