Caught up!

From the tortured to the humourous.  Well, I thought it was a funny chapter, anyway.  Berg, the rather vague, egotistical character, makes a return appearance to finally propose to Vera.  (He’s the only one out of all the original boyfriends for the Rostov girls that is still around.)

So the unpopular Vera finally gets married off to the one person so far in the book who seems to like her.  But then he doesn’t seem to quite have it all together either.

But more ominously, we have the reminder yet again that the Rostovs are on the verge of bankruptcy.  But then again, they seem to have been bankrupt for quite a while now and they’re still living it up.  They’d make good Americans, don’t you think?

6 thoughts on “One-Year War and Peace 6.11 – Berg & Vera

  1. I suppose, Matt, it is a kind of humorous chapter – but I reckon it’s fairly dark humour. I’m the first to admit that I’m not too keen on Vera either – but then I couldn’t help feeling a pang of sadness for her in this Chapter, I guess precisely because of the humorus bits. I mean, here she is being married off to a man who seems to love her, at best, paranthetically by a family that, despite all its warmth and love, doesn’t seem to like her very much.

    The added problem I have with Vera is that for some reason she conjures up in my mind images of Vera Bennett, the sad, tragic, mean officer who everyone hated in the first few years of “Prisoner”. I’m sure that’s sacrilege to compare Vera from”War and Peace” with Vera from “Prisoner” – but, there: I’ve admitted it!!

  2. And that’s me caught up too.

    Vera – that’s somebody I don’t really know much about. For some reason, nobody likes her, even her parents. I cannot help but wonder what makes this so – she seems to be down on everybody herself – especially her sister, admonishing her behaviour at that party way back there in the early chapters.

    But I wonder if it’s because people don’t like her.

    And Berg – they seem to have fallen together as two people who don’t have a place in the world.

    Now they’re going to get married – the count has promised money – money, he most likely doesn’t even have.

    Here are the characters I’m adding to my count:

    Mitenka –

    Though Nicholas Rostov had kept firmly to his resolution and was still serving modestly in an obscure regiment, spending comparatively little, the way of life at Otradnoe- Mitenka’s management of affairs, in particular- was such that the debts inevitably increased every year.

    Peronskaya – A Maid of Honour

    &

    Postmaster’s Son –

    Country neighbors from Otradnoe, impoverished old squires and their daughters, Peronskaya a maid of honor, Pierre Bezukhov, and the son of their district postmaster who had obtained a post in Petersburg.

    556

  3. Carly, I must say I am VERY impressed with your character count. I wonder if anyone has ever done it quite this thoroughly before?

  4. Yes. A lot of our readers wouldn’t have seen this, but this character count has all been forming in the last month, and you can go back to my post on Book 1 and see where it all began.

    Granted, the number of characters might put you off reading the novel . . . but, hey, with a great index like this you’ve got no reason to get confused.

  5. *Blush!*

    Compliments! Always welcome . . . if you run out, just throw money – ha ha!

    Here’s the link to where I’m keeping the count – it’s not the neatest thing in the world right now, but it’s there . . .

    http://wildcity.proboards14.com/index.cgi?board=Books&action=display&thread=3127&page=1

    You can respond to most of the threads at Wild City, but this one, this character count of mine is ‘locked’ . . . it’s not that I’m not open to suggestions, it’s just that I don’t want to get distracted.

    I’ll eventually open it up so people can pop in and tack stuff on (or maybe I’ll just make a new thread for that).

    I also have one for War and Peace ‘Places’, but I haven’t done much with it yet.

    I am so caught up in the story of W & P – I imagine it will take me a whole year to finish doing my count.

    Thanks for responding, fellas, and for your compliments.

  6. BTW, if you see any place online that gives free ‘stills’ from the movies, let me know – I like to add them to the characters.
    I have a picture of how Sergei looks, playing Pierre.

    Just put the url to the picture (or the picture itself) on here.

    I’ll be pleased as punch.

Leave a Reply

