Well, without wasting any time, the week kicks off with our 4th victim. See, I was right about Rogers being crossed off the list of suspects.

The good thing is, it leaves us with a more manageable list of suspects:

– The corrupt detective Blore

– The devil-may-care adventurer Lombard

– The religiously severe Emily Brent

– The coldly logical Justice Wargrave

– The “access to all poisons” Dr Armstrong

– The guilt-ridden Vera Claythorne.

This is where we start to notice how 2D these characters are, as well. They just don’t seem to be overly phased by the whole thing. (e.g. Lombard’s amusement at Blore and thinking that he’d be likely to be bumped off because he has no imagination). In fact, if it was me, I think I’d be divvying up the cold food, sending everyone to their room, and not letting people come out until someone comes with a boat.

Either that, or I’d get everyone camped in the lounge room. But then, for sure, the murderer would stay awake longer than everyone else and kill everyone else while they were asleep.

I’m getting morbid, but despite everyone trying their best to eat breakfast calmly, there’s a heightened sense of craziness in the air. This is what I love about this particular novel. In a detective novel, the crime has been committed, so there’s no real tension – just the enjoyment of unravelling whodunnit. In this book, though, all the characters are playing for their lives, and if they don’t work out who’s behind it soon, they’ll be next.

Looking forward to tomorrow!

5 thoughts on “And Then There Were None – Chapter 11 (4 Dead; 6 Alive)

  1. I feel a bit bad for Rogers (or the one Rogers… Are we still sure there’s only one?)

    And what of the mysterious writing that apparently revealed the identity of the killer? Do all of these people actually exist, or is this all going to be a dream?

  2. I think the smart money is on there being only one Rogers. Part of me still likes the idea that the murderer is separate to the ten characters we’re seeing – and the only fair/feasible way I can reconcile that is with the murderer hiding in plain sight as a twin/doppelganger of one of the ten.

    But I think it might be just a little too crazy an idea to pull off.

    But if it’s all a dream, I will come over to Matt’s house and smack him in the head (sorry Matt, but AC’s not available).

  3. What’s wrong with an ending where they all think it’s a dream? (Apparently, there is an old noir film from the 30s that has that exact ending, so it’s a cliche that actually does exist . . . and, of course, there is Alice in Wonderland.)

    I quite like the doppelganger theory – in fact, I’m trying to think of any mystery stories that I’ve read where it has been used.

    There was a recent film that had that as the twist, which I know Dave has seen, but not anybody else, so I don’t want to name it on the blog for fear of spoiling it for anyone who hasn’t seen it. (Email me if you really want to know.) That also was probably one of the most clever mystery movies in recent years.

Leave a Reply

