I’m always one to like making New Year’s Resolutions – and it was one such resolution which got me from the private sector into the classical music world, so they can work.

I have three for 2011, in no particular order:

  1. I want to start some experiments with converting newcomers to classical music into classical music fans. The classical music industry does a pretty good job (on the whole) of working to find all the existing fans that are out there. But I’m interested in the bigger question: can we make new ones?
  2. I’m interested in developing a strategy for local mission (ie helping those in need in our community) for the local church that I attend.
  3. I’m not going to buy any books, DVDs or music until I’m ready to read / watch / listen to said item. My original intention a few days ago was not to buy any new books, DVDs or music at all this year – but there are actually a few series and authors that I’m working through that I’d like to continue. But nonetheless, I want to avoid chasing after hundreds of new projects to pursue when I can enjoy finishing the ones I’m already working on. So we’ll see how that goes.

There’s other things I’m interested in, like nutrition and exercise, but I’m still trying to get my head around the best way to do that. In the meantime, those three will do as a start.

Leave a Reply

